Bean caponata with millet

I really like cutting out recipes from newspapers and magazines. I tend to keep them all in a binder and hope to get round to testing them one day. Often, I end up trying them once and realise perhaps I’ll not make again and the recipe is discarded. These don’t make it to the blog. But then comes along a recipe that surprises you…
I’ve tried to make caponata before but it didn’t go too well. I wasn’t impressed. But then I came across a recipe in The Guardian for one with some tinned beans and I completely loved it. Even with all the capers, which I think are OK, but only in small doses.
Sadly, I have not been able to find the recipe online – I know the date it was in the Guardian but for some reason I can’t locate it! Even with using the site: functionality on Google. All the effort to find it, and I could’ve typed it out faster. So here it is with all credit going to Tom Hunt and The Guardian:

Some oil
1 aubergine, cut into chunks
2 sticks of celery (although I didn’t bother)
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 tin tomatoes
50g capers (50grams?!?! I put about 3 tsp in)
1 tin mixed beans, drained
1 tbsp red or white wine vinegar
1 heaped tsp sugar
4 sprigs parsley, chopped (again, I didn’t bother, and just used dried)

Method is super simple:
Heat some oil in a pan and fry the aubergine in batches til browned. Put to one side
Fry the celery and garlic in same pan for 5 mins.
Add back in the aubergine with the tomatoes, capers, beans, vinegar and sugar. Bring to boil and simmer 10mins. Stir in parsley. (I added some basil I happened to have too)

I had mine with some millet made following the recipe from The Kitchn which turned out delicious. I’ll be making millet again this way for sure, in place of my usual couscous.

Now one point is the recipe said the caponata would serve 4. I, er, got 2 servings from it. Am I greedy or what?! Would possibly have got 3 at a squeeze but certainly not 4!

Here is my pic, which I really don’t think shows off how great this was! I need to get better with my camera!

image

UPDATE: have found the recipe! Online here.

UPDATE 2: turns out the site: search on Google doesn’t work on tablets very well. I’ve since re-run the search on a desktop and worked fine. Know for future!

This entry was posted in Main dish, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

