Boston baked beans and cornbread

Another recipe from the wonderful people at The Spicery (for previous posts, see my fruit compote and Hungarian Lecso posts)… the vegetarian version of a classic American dish. I’ve never had real Boston baked beans as they contained meat so I was pleased to be sent this recipe which specifically said veggie sausages.

It took a long time to make this one – 2 hours in the oven overall, and this is with using tinned beans already. And perhaps a little longer for me after I cut my finger half-way through cooking! But, it was a really easy recipe. Cooking slices of veggie sausages (I used Cauldron brand) with onion and then adding tomatoes, the beans (a mixture of cannellini, borlotti and haricot), some wine vinegar, some black treacle (handily I had some!) and the spice mix. The spice mix contained a mix of three types of paprika and other spices) and there were also some whole spices to add –  chipolte chilli and bay leaves.  Then it went in the oven for 1 hour 30 mins and could be forgotten about (almost!).

And then onto the cornbread. I was pretty excited about this as I had heard of people making it but I’d never tried it myself and keen to see how it would turn out. I was surprised it had cheese in (a welcome surprise) but it didn’t rise as much as I thought it would. Perhaps the pan I made it in was too big but my cornbread was quite thin. No matter – it tasted good.

Here is my cornbread:

Cornbread

I would definitely make this again to accompany any similar dish I make. I’d be interested to find alternative recipes which perhaps don’t use all the spices in the mix The Spicery supplied, as I don’t have them always in the house (red pepper flakes, celery salt).

Here are the baked beans…

Boston baked beans

Pretty good! Made 4 portions and the chilli in them definitely got more intense with the portion I left in the fridge overnight… so much so, I considered getting some natural yoghurt to top the beans and taken away the heat!

It would be great to make these again, but as long as they don’t take so long. Having the oven on for 2 hours seems a little wasteful, even though it did also cook the cornbread. I’ll be on the lookout!

This entry was posted in Main dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Boston baked beans and cornbread

  1. Pingback: Christmas truffles | FoodieNelly's Blog

  2. Paula says:

    How do you make the Cornbread? Would you mind posting the recipe? Looks gorgeous! All of it

Leave a Reply

