Cauliflower cheese soup

This might be the best soup ever… But only if you like cauliflower cheese!
I saw Rachel Allen make it on TV years ago and noted down the recipe at the time. I didn’t note down how much milk but I’ve taken a guess…
Basically, make a roux with 50g butter and 50g flour before gradually adding your milk (I used about a pint of milk in total). Meanwhile (or after, if you can’t make a white sauce at the same time as doing anything else!) cook 1 head of cauliflower (broken into florets) in 14fl oz stock.
Once white sauce done, add 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard and 110g grated cheese.
When the cauli is cooked, add it and the stock to the cheese sauce and mix before blending. If it’s too thick, add some water. This made about 4 portions of soup for me.
Now, I have a photo but I realise why I’ve not blogged about this soup before is because it is not very photogenic!
image

Apologies for the mixing of metric and imperial measurements, it was just what I wrote at the time and it works for me!

This entry was posted in Soup, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cauliflower cheese soup

  1. Pingback: Broccoli and cheese soup | FoodieNelly's Blog

Leave a Reply

