Red wine and mushroom risotto

Another recipe from a Girl Called Jack, and one which is fast becoming a staple in my repertoire. Very easy to make and works well with whatever you want to add to it. In this one I’ve added some cherry tomatoes and topped with some blue cheese but you can also easily leave it just as is. As I had some fresh thyme hanging around from a previous recipe, I used this but in the past I’ve added mixed dried herbs and they have worked equally well.

I like to use chestnut mushrooms or mini-portabella ones (recently found in Sainsbury’s on offer). I think the plain white mushrooms don’t offer the depth of flavour you would want for this.

Maybe there is a little too much stock – mine was quite liquidy – but obviously that can be adjusted.

IMG_2115

Jack Monroe has been a wonderful source of recipe inspiration. I know she has a day job but I do hope her blog long continues!

This entry was posted in Main dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red wine and mushroom risotto

  1. Sally says:

    Big fan of Jack’s blog – this risotto looks tremendous.

Leave a Reply

