Dhal

This recipe is from Ottolenghi… it was originally in the Guardian but it was only after my mum said how great it was did I make it. I didn’t know it was down as “spiced lentils” – my mum just calls it “red lentil dhal”!

It has wonderful flavours and is a great side dish. I make a large batch of it and freeze in the right-sized portions. It may have a long list of ingredients but I found I didn’t need to buy much in – a lot of the items I already had in my cupboard.

Not much to say – I made it according to the recipe but didn’t bother peeling the tomatoes – but do try it – it is totally worth it. And don’t forget the butter at the end!

Oh, and note to self for next time I make this: don’t use the Le Creuset – the mixture caught on the bottom of the pan for me. I’ll use my fave 10-year-old non-stick pan instead!

 

20130427-211653.jpg

This entry was posted in Side, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

