Chocolate chestnut cookies

Before Christmas, the Guardian had a feature on homemade edible presents to give people. I thought the chocolate chestnut cookies looked simple enough to make and as I was visiting my friends soon after, they would be great to take along. And the sweetened chestnut purée was easy enough to find – my local large Sainsbury’s stocked it.
And so. Like I said, recipe simple enough until it came to piping out the dough in lovely swirls. The mixture was so thick none of my piping implements worked. After much effort I have up and just rolled the mixture into balls and flattened them to make discs.
Here’s how they turned out:

20130101-192333.jpg
I added some white chocolate stars to make them look nice. And I read some of the comments in the article to seek advice about how to pipe them. Apparently the addition of a little more butter would have been helpful but I really can’t see that. But next time, I’ll consider it. I’m pretty sure there will be a next time. They really were very tasty. Can’t say how long they would last in an air right container. They were all eaten very quickly!

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

