Sticky toffee traybake

There are very few things more delicious than sticky toffee pudding. But, sticky toffee pudding is not all that easy to make for “everyday” and you need some good ramekins. Lucky for me, the Great British Bake Off cookbook has a “traybake” version, which makes them a bit more everyday – a good thing to indulge, a bad thing for the waistline.

I made it especially for a friend of mine’s birthday, in the belief he had tagged the puddings in the GBBO book as something I should make. As it turned out, I’ve no idea who tagged them, but he got the traybake anyway. As a side note, the hashtag for the Great British Bake Off is #GBBO, so always good to follow along on Twitter.

Relatively simple to make: chopped dates soaked in boiling water before making the batter mix. Adding the dates and some walnuts to the batter before adding into a brownie tin. Cook! Next time I make this I’ll be sure to more finely chop the dates before they go in. I felt they were a little bit on the large side. But otherwise, it seemed pretty straightforward.

Then, the traybake is allowed to cool completely before adding a caramel topping. I have struggled with caramel before, with caramel shortbread (but not blogged about it), and that it just didn’t harden enough. I’m not sure what the intended outcome was for this caramel topping, but it didn’t harden as much as I thought it would. I think its because I don’t boil the sugar enough but I’m not sure. Maybe the topping was meant to be the consistency it was. There was no picture accompanying the recipe so I guess I may never know – or until someone more experienced makes it and tells me how it should be done!

Here are some pics… the first, the sponge without the topping.

20120930-164624.jpg

And this: with topping!

20120930-164721.jpg

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sticky toffee traybake

  1. Oh, good Heavens…that must have been amazing. Sticky Toffee Pudding isn’t nearly as popular here in the U.S. as it should be.

  2. Soph says:

    i have been trying to look for this recipe everywhere!
    would it be to much trouble for you to post the ingredients & method?

  3. If it helps, I’ve made this a couple of times now and that’s exactly what the topping came out like for me, so I’m hoping it’s right!

Leave a Reply

