Ultimate winter couscous

A little while ago I made the Ultimate Winter Couscous from Ottolenghi’s Plenty book.
The recipe looked easy enough, and seemed adaptable to remove the ingredients I’m not fond of (parsnips, dried apricots).
Once I started, I realised it was a bit of a faff. Needing a deep enough baking tray that would contain the liquid and all the veg (which I didn’t have, so adapted by using grill pan without the top) and took a while cooking in the oven (1 hr in all). And after all the effort, I wasn’t really all that impressed with the dish. It was just ok, and I had already started to assign it to the “don’t try again pile”. BUT! I had made enough to freeze a portion and the other day I had this for tea… Wow, what a difference leaving it makes! I really enjoyed the flavours of this dish after it had been left. Clearly similar to a curry which gets better if left overnight. I won’t be so quick to discard recipes which use so many spices in future, knowing they may get better!
So here’s the pic:

20120922-115810.jpg

This entry was posted in Main dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

