Spinach and artichoke dip

This weekend I had a few folks round for a flat warming party, so this is the first of a few posts about what I made.
I first tried this dip at a family BBQ last year when my cousin’s wife brought it along, having got the recipe from an American friend. I then had it when I was in Chicago this year and it is totally amazing. And very simple to make!
I used this recipe from Food.com as it contained all the ingredients I thought was in the dip.
I know the recipe is in cups, and less helpfully when you use the conversion on the site to metric, it doesn’t quite work out (I’d never measure Parmesan in millilitres!). Luckily I have some US cup measures but for those that don’t have them, for UK folks, it’s around 200-220g Parmesan (I used “Italian hard cheese” which comes already grated), 280g frozen spinach, 400g can artichokes, 150ml carton sour cream, 250ml cream cheese (which is about a tablespoon less than a 300g tub of Philadelphia), 80ml mayo (sorry, no weight on this, about 5 tablespoons), and 2 cloves crushed garlic.
The temp conversion for the oven is 190 C.
Here’s a pic!

20120916-125832.jpg

I made 3 portions of this size (300ml each). I’m sure you can make a smaller batch so you don’t have do much but I’m going to use the leftovers in a pasta bake. Can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Side, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spinach and artichoke dip

  1. Very well done! Yes, Spinach & Artichoke Dip is quite the staple at parties here. Let me know if you need more US measuring cups/spoons, I’ll be glad to send them to you. Have you seen this recipe for Spinach Dip (sans artichoke)? It is traditionally served cold in a hollowed out sourdough round loaf, aka “bread bowl.” http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,181,153167-241193,00.html

    • foodienelly says:

      Thanks Tracy! I should be good with my current cup set but I appreciate the offer. Will check out that other recipe. Sounds yum!
      I can’t wait to have more of my dip as pasta bake tonight!

  2. Pingback: Pesto style houmous | FoodieNelly's Blog

  3. Pingback: Cheese and wine…. #1 | FoodieNelly's Blog

  4. Pingback: Veggie tartiflette – my version | FoodieNelly's Blog

Leave a Reply

