Honey cake

I was given a recipe from a friend for a lovely sounding Honey Cake. She had told me beforehand that it contained almonds but you couldn’t taste them. Although I was skeptical, I got round to making it this weekend…

Firstly, it was a super-easy cake to make, and came together very nicely. Secondly, I think its actually quite a “healthy” cake, as it used wholemeal flour and not all that much sugar. OK, so it had 300g of butter (or Stork in my case) in it, but I think the wholemeal flour makes up for it!

The gist of the recipe was a mix of butter and sugar, to which you add 4 eggs, one at a time, with a touch of flour to help the mixing. Then sift in the flour and baking powder (I found that all the “good” bits of the wholemeal stayed in the sieve after sifting, but I put them in the cake anyway) and fold into the egg/butter/sugar mixture. Then stir in the ground almonds, put the mixture into a cake tin. You can top with sliced almonds at this point, which I did do, but I think next time I will omit these, or add at the end. Then into the oven for 45mins.

I found that my cake looked like it might burn on the top, and not knowing what I should do to prevent this, I turned the oven down a tad. Unfortunately, I think I turned the oven down too much and my cake started to sink in the middle! I couldn’t rescue it, sadly, but I don’t think it impaired the flavour too much – just its appearance!

So here is the finished cake… a little brown on the top (not burnt, just well done). After it comes out of the oven, you drizzle it with honey and leave to cool in the tin. The honey really makes this cake, and its lovely and moist. The outer edges which have gone more brown than the rest actually taste the best – slightly caramelised. YUM!

20120422-164613.jpg

On a side note, I think this recipe came from a River Cottage cookbook, but I’m not entirely sure.

This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

