Flatbreads

For Christmas I got Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s River Cottage Veg Every Day and I’ve pretty much had something from that book every day this year!
Today I wanted to get back into my bread making & Hugh had a recipe for “magic bread dough” that could be used for pizzas, flatbreads, bread sticks, rolls. The flatbreads looked easy enough so that’s where I began.
I was very pleased with the dough after kneading. It was one of the easier doughs to work with, so I think I’ll be using this recipe as my default one for any bread. On with the flatbreads. Into a smoking hot pan goes some of the dough, stretched & rolled. A couple of them bubbled up very pleasingly:

20120108-140016.jpg

And a few got a little blackened (but not burnt! No pics of those!).

Now what to use them for… Lunch & dinner! I made four in total (the recipe says it would make 8 but I used the remainder to make a couple of bread rolls) and used two to fill with roasted butternut squash, sage, red onion, cheese & salad leaves. Totally delicious!

20120108-140348.jpg

And for the final two flatbreads? I’ll be using them to go with the pinto bean chilli I’ll make this evening (also from Hugh’s book!).

This entry was posted in Bread, Side and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flatbreads

  1. Sarah says:

    Looks gorgeous!

  2. Pingback: Potato, rosemary and blue cheese pizza | FoodieNelly's Blog

Leave a Reply

