Tomato and mozzarella tart

I had all the best intentions of making some bread this weekend… but you know what they say about best intentions! Instead I made a tomato and mozzarella tart. I’d tried this a couple of weekends ago, with shortcrust pastry, but I wasn’t keen on the pastry so decided to try it again… but with puff pastry, and I tried to make it less soggy. I’m not afraid to admit my creations don’t always go according to plan – last time I made this both the mozzarella and tomatoes gave off a lot of juice (which I ended up using a spoon to remove it!)  so I tried to minimise this by cooking the tomatoes a little beforehand, and leaving the mozzarella to dry out a little. Lesson for next time: let them dry out more!

I used my own home-grown basil in the tart and put a few leaves on top for decoration.

Here’s the picture of the tart… just a small slice. It ended up a bit rustic in shape, so no picture of the full tart – and I’d forgotten to prick the pastry before cooking so, if you’re ever wondering why prick puff pastry – its because it stops it rising and your topping from falling off! Not my proudest moment, but it was tasty and I’ll make it again.

No recipe for this one – just made it up. Used half a roll of ready made puff pastry, about 5 tomatoes, 12 basil leaves, and half a large ball of mozzarella.

This entry was posted in Main dish, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomato and mozzarella tart

  1. Sarah says:

    Looks great!!

  2. Pingback: Tomato, brie and courgette tart | FoodieNelly's Blog

Leave a Reply

